Admitting Inadequacy is Not Easy

As I mentioned in my last post, I have an ear infection.

I’m not sure if I thought to mention, but today we are to head to the town of one of our students, Nelson Mandela (yes, that’s his real name), to minister. We woke up at 5am (It’s almost 6:30am here) and are to set of at 7am. However, I had to make a decision that was very hard for me.

I’m not going with them.

Not only am I missing a chance to see Nelson’s home and family (which is very important here), but I’m missing an opportunity to preach tomorrow morning in the church service, which I haven’t been able to do in a while and was excited about getting to do with the guys around.

If you know me really well, you not only know what a big deal this ear infection could be based on my history, but you also might happen to know that I have a very hard time admitting that I’m unable to do something. When I don’t have time, I will often apologize and say I’m not able to, but when I don’t have strength, I try to power through often on my own and ignore God’s call to rest.

This morning I had to stop and ask myself, “is it better I go and do this and keep my pride but possibly have this ear infection get worse, even to the point of needing to leave the country or is it better that I humbly admit that I need to rest and set a better example for the guys in taking care of themselves?” If you can’t take care of yourself, you can’t take care of others or teach others to take care of themselves.

This is me admitting that I can’t do this by my own strength and need rest. Please pray that I will recover quickly and not miss out on anything else. I will be resting most of the day, spending time in prayer for the team while awake, and also traveling into town to hopefully be able to find the ear drops that I need.

Thank you for the prayers and support.

Categories: Uganda | Tags: , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Admitting Inadequacy is Not Easy

  1. it’s better that you humbly admit that you need to rest. and do a treatment fpr you ear pain

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

