Who Am I?

Don’t be confused by the title of this message. I know who I am. I know who I am in Christ and I know who I am based on where I’m from and where I’ve been and who God has been molding me into…but this is a question like that presented in Psalm 8,

Lord, our Lord,
how majestic is your name in all the earth!

You have set your glory
in the heavens.
Through the praise of children and infants
you have established a stronghold against your enemies,
to silence the foe and the avenger.
When I consider your heavens,
the work of your fingers,
the moon and the stars,
which you have set in place,
what is mankind that you are mindful of them,
    human beings that you care for them?

You have made them a little lower than the angels
and crowned them with glory and honor.
You made them rulers over the works of your hands;
you put everything under their feet:
all flocks and herds,
and the animals of the wild,
the birds in the sky,
and the fish in the sea,
all that swim the paths of the seas.

Lord, our Lord,
how majestic is your name in all the earth!

My question is not one of identity, but one of value. I know that I am valuable because I am a son of God…but it still baffles me. I’ve had several conversations in the last couple of days with leaders out here and have been incredibly affirmed in my own ministry. However, within that is the question of, who am I that God has chosen to do this work through me. He could do this through anyone, but he’s chosen me for this work.

That’s humbling.

In spite of all I’ve done in the past, in spite of who I’ve been, in spite of my own apprehensions and preferences, in spite of my own stubbornness; God has worked in spite of me, in me and through me. (I don’t know how to write this out with proper grammar…but I feel this communicates how I would say this out loud fairly well).

Getting to hear the impact that I have had on some of the guys, the impression that I have given and left on people, the perception of me by many, and all of these different things are evidence of God’s grace.

If I were left to myself and my own devices, I would be as good as dead and living a life that looks quite different. However, by God’s grace and love, I am who I am and I’m becoming who he wants me to be. It’s hard not to smile in thinking about the fact that I am where I am and who I am, not by my own doing, but by God’s and through the support of friends and family both monetarily, morally, and prayerfully.

I cannot boast in where I am or who I am. God has done this through his spirit and the body of Christ.

So good.

Thank you.

 

Categories: Uganda | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

